Get Your Consultation TODAY!

When Will I Get My Driver’s License Back After a OWI?

The state of Iowa takes driving under the influence seriously. If you are convicted of an OWI, you are likely to lose your license for a significant period of time. We probably do not have to tell you what an inconvenience this can be. A Des Moines OWI lawyer can help you defend yourself if you have been charged, and if you have already been convicted we may be able to help you try and get your driver’s license back.

Get Help Today

How Long Can My Driver’s License Get Taken Away For?

Even a first offense can result in your driver’s license being taken away. After being convicted of an OWI for the first time, you could spend a year in jail, pay a fine of up to $1,250, or be forced to enroll in a substance abuse course. Your punishment could combine all three of these punishments. You can also lose your license for 180 days.

That’s six months! Imagine how difficult it will be to get around for all that time without your driver’s license. If this is not your first offense, the potential punishments get even more severe. A second offense could result in a revocation of your driver’s license lasting up to a year. A third offense could result in a six-year license revocation! The state can also add on years if people get hurt as a result of you operating a vehicle while under the influence.

What Do I Need to Do to Get My Driver’s License Back?

If you have lost your license, you are probably going to need to do a few things before you can get it back. First, you have to wait out your sentence. If your driver’s license was revoked for 180 days, the state is going to stick to that.

You are probably going to have to meet some other requirements before getting your license back. You may have to:

  • Complete an approved rehabilitation course and submit proof to the Iowa Department of Transportation
  • Complete an approved drinking driver course
  • Install an ignition interlock device in your vehicle
  • Pay a civil penalty of $200

Do I Need an Attorney?

Hiring a seasoned defense attorney as soon as you are charged with an OWI is your best plan of action. A lawyer may be able come up with a defensive strategy that helps you beat the charges, or they could negotiate with the prosecutor to reduce the charges. This could help you hang onto your driver’s license.

Contact Our Law Firm Today

If you do not want to lose your license, you should seriously consider talking to an experienced OWI lawyer. Contact Herting Law, PLLC to schedule an initial consultation. We can take a closer look at your case and tell you more about how we can be of assistance.

© 2024 Herting Law, PLLC. All Rights Reserved.
Disclaimer | Sitemap | Privacy Policy