Get Your Consultation TODAY!

What are the Penalties for a Hit and Run in Iowa?

Iowa requires drivers to pull over and make sure of everyone’s safety whenever vehicles collide. If you fail to do so, you open yourself up to charges for a hit and run. Given the difficulty law enforcement will have in identifying and apprehending you, you can bet that they will prosecute you to the fullest extent of state law. If you suspect you are involved in a hit and run in Iowa, please read on, then contact an experienced Des Moines criminal defense lawyer today.

Get Help Today

What constitutes a hit and run in Iowa?

Per Iowa General Statute (I.G.S) 321.261, drivers involved in a car accident of any sort must stop, render necessary assistance and give personal identifying information to a police officer, witness, injured person or property owner. Drivers in this situation must provide the following:

  • Names
  • Addresses
  • Operator’s license number
  • Registration number

If drivers do not have the ability to report this information to any appropriate person for any reason, they must notify local law enforcement authorities of the details of the accident. Failure to do so can result in criminal charges.

What consequences do you face for a hit and run in Iowa?

If you have the misfortune to sustain a conviction for a hit and run, you can expect severe penalties. Your exact penalties will depend on the severity of the underlying accident. Determining factors include the extent or lack thereof of injuries or deaths and the number of times, if any, the defendant has previously sustained convictions for this offense. With that in mind, the penalties for leaving the scene of an accident are as follows:

No injuries:

  • Misdemeanor
  • Up to thirty days in jail
  • Up to $625 in fines

With injuries:

  • Serious misdemeanor
  • Up to one year in jail
  • Up to $1,875 in fines

With fatalities:

  • Class D felony
  • Up to five years in prison
  • Up to $7,500 in fines
  • Potential revocation of the individual’s driver’s license
  • Potential permanent suspension of the individual’s driving privileges

Furthermore, committing any of these offenses may lead to increased insurance rates or your insurance carrier dropping your coverage.

How do you defend against a hit-and-run charge in Iowa?

If law enforcement has charged you with a hit and run, you should speak with one of our skilled Des Moines lawyers who will discuss the particulars of your case and employ one of the following defenses:

  • Mistaken identity
  • No proof of damage or accident
  • You did not, in fact, flee the scene; the alleged victim did

Our firm is here to help you fight for your future.

Contact Our Firm

Herting Law, PLLC, is an Iowa-based law firm designed to help with all of your legal needs. Contact Herting Law, PLLC today for help.

© 2022 Herting Law, PLLC. All Rights Reserved.
Disclaimer | Sitemap | Privacy Policy