Get Your Consultation TODAY!

Is Driving Without Insurance A Crime in Iowa?

Driving without insurance coverage is actually a crime. The state sets minimum requirements for insurance coverage and they are meant to protect everyone on the road. When you drive without coverage, you are endangering others and could also end up facing major financial issues if you get into a crash. It’s not all bad news though. If you get charged and there is a way to fight it, a Des Moines traffic violation lawyer from our firm will do their best to find it.

Get Help Today

What Are Insurance Requirements?

Like most other states, Iowa has a requirement for minimum coverage. All drivers need a policy that covers:

  • $20,000 for bodily injury liability per person
  • $40,000 for bodily injury liability per accident
  • $15,000 for property damage per accident

Bodily injury and property damage coverage help you cover the bills of another person if you get into an accident and you are at fault. You can also opt for additional types of coverage like comprehensive, collision, or gap insurance.

What Happens If I Do Not Have Insurance?

The punishments for not having car insurance are unlikely to ruin your life, but they can certainly be a major pain and a drain on your finances. Most people caught driving without coverage end up facing:

  • Fines
  • Community service
  • The impounding of their vehicle
  • An SR-22 requirement for the next two years

Fines cost you money, getting your vehicle out of impound costs money, and the SR-22 requirement can cost you money. If you are not familiar with this form, an SR-22 is something that must be filed by some drivers, usually after they have been charged with a crime. This form shows that you have minimum auto insurance coverage, but it costs money to file. Insurers also tend to charge more to anyone who requires this form.

If you get into a crash while driving without insurance, you could end up facing even harsher penalties. Fines, community service, and an SR-22 could still be a part of the deal, but you may also end up facing:

  • Suspension of your license for up to 12 months
  • The suspension of your vehicle registration

Both of these can be costly to get back. You could end up paying around $700 just to get your license reinstated.

Do I Need a Lawyer?

If you do not want to risk the loss of your license or other more severe penalties, hiring a lawyer can be a worthwhile investment. An attorney from our firm can look at the specifics of your case and help you figure out the best defensive strategy to employ. They may also be able to negotiate a less severe penalty if it looks like the case is not going to go your way.

Schedule a Consultation

So if you have been accused of driving without insurance, contact Herting Law, PLLC. We can help you defend yourself and we’ll do everything that we can to help you avoid the harshest penalties.

© 2024 Herting Law, PLLC. All Rights Reserved.
Disclaimer | Sitemap | Privacy Policy