How is leaving the scene defined in Iowa?
Drivers in Iowa are required to remain at the scene of a vehicle accident to provide the following information:
- Driver’s license
- Registration number
If an accident involved an unattended vehicle, it is required for the driver to make a “reasonable effort” to locate the owner of the vehicle. They can also leave their information on the vehicle for the owner to find.
What are the consequences of fleeing the scene of an accident?
When a driver leaves the scene of an auto accident without providing the above information, they can face penalties based on the damage that occurred as a result of the accident.
For example, if no one was injured and only vehicle damage occurred, the offender who left the accident can be charged with a misdemeanor and up to 30 days in jail, and up to $625 in fines. When a person is injured in an accident, the offender can be charged with a serious misdemeanor which comes with penalties of up to 1 year in jail and fines of up to $1875. If an individual passes away as a result of an accident, the offender will likely face a Class D felony which is punishable by up to 5 years in prison and up to $7500 in fines. Offenders can also risk having their license revoked or their driving privileges being suspended permanently in the case that the offense was serious enough. Other consequences of leaving the accident in Iowa include increased insurance rates and potentially being dropped from their carrier altogether.
If you have any further questions, do not hesitate to contact our firm.
Contact Our Firm
Herting Law, PLLC, is an Iowa-based law firm that has experience in all criminal matters, including OWIs, drug charges, gun crimes, theft, assault, and more. If you need an estate planning lawyer, our firm can guide you. Whatever the situation, Herting Law, PLLC has you covered.