Will I go to jail for simple assault in Iowa?
To start, you should note that there are three types of assault here in the state of Iowa. They are simple misdemeanor assault, serious misdemeanor assault, and aggravated misdemeanor assault. Simple misdemeanor assault is the most common assault-related charge we see, and can entail up to 30 days of jail time and a fine ranging from $105-$855.
What are the penalties for other assault charges here in Iowa?
Unfortunately, the potential penalties you may face for serious misdemeanor assault and aggravated misdemeanor assault are harsher than those of simple assault charges. For example, serious misdemeanor assault charges can warrant up to one year of incarceration and a potential $2,560 fine. Individuals who commit hate crimes or cause serious physical injury/mental illness to the victim of assault may face these charges.
On the other hand, when someone is charged with aggravated misdemeanor assault, such as for exhibiting a deadly weapon while committing an act of assault, you will most likely face a maximum of two years of incarceration and a maximum $8,540 fine.
Regardless of the assault charges you’re facing, the most important thing you can do is retain the services of a knowledgeable and dedicated Des Moines criminal defense lawyer who can assess the circumstances of your charges and, from there, craft the strongest defense possible on your behalf. Our legal team has a proven track record of success and we will do everything in our power to help keep you out of jail and on track to living a free and productive life. All you need to do is pick up the phone and give us a call today.
Contact Our Firm
Herting Law, PLLC, is an Iowa-based law firm designed to help with all of your legal needs. Contact Herting Law, PLLC today for help.