WILL I GET JAIL TIME AFTER A FIRST DUI OFFENSE IN IOWA?
Once you’re convicted of a DUI charge in Iowa, you’ll be sentenced to at least two days in jail. This is because the minimum incarceration time is 48 hours for a first-offense DUI. However, first-time offenders can’t be sentenced to longer than a year in jail. It’s important to hire an experienced criminal defense lawyer immediately after being arrested so they can help you reduce or dismiss the charges.
WHAT PENALTIES CAN I FACE FOR A FIRST DWI?
The penalties you are dealt after a first-offense DUI depend on the circumstances of the incident and your criminal history. First-time offenders who had a blood alcohol content (BAC) of less than 0.15% and did not cause an accident that injured others have the highest chance of getting the minimum penalties. These offenders might be penalized with a license suspension for up to 180 days, fines, required usage of an ignition interlock device (IID), and enrollment in a substance abuse course.
You could face more severe penalties if your BAC was over 0.15% or if you caused a car crash while drunk driving. You also have a higher chance of getting maximum punishment if you have a criminal history (even if you haven’t previously committed any driving-related or alcohol-related crimes) or if you refused to take a breathalyzer.
WHAT SHOULD I DO AFTER A DUI ARREST?
Many people worry about how their life can change after a DUI conviction. Don’t panic because you can hire an attorney to help you reduce or even possibly dismiss your charges. Experienced criminal defense lawyers are well-versed in the different ways of fighting a DUI charge.
Have you recently been arrested for a DUI in Iowa? Are you seeking an effective criminal defense lawyer who has your best interests in mind? Look no further because Herting Law PLLC is here to fight for you! Contact our talented team of law professionals today for an initial consultation.