Get Your Consultation TODAY!

What to Know After Being Charged with a OWI in Iowa this Labor Day

If you have been charged with an OWI over the long weekend, it is important to retain the services of an experienced criminal defense attorney who will walk you through the legal process ahead. Continue reading to discover the penalties you can expect when charged with a first, second, and third offense OWI in Iowa. It is important to understand the penalties that you may face for your actions.

To learn more about our services and how we can assist you, give our firm a call to discuss your situation.

Get Help Today

First-Offense OWI Penalties

For a first-offense OWI in Iowa, you can expect the following penalties:

  • A potential 180-day license revocation
  • Up to one year in jail
  • A potential $1,250 fine
  • You may receive a Temporary Restrictive License if you install and use the ignition interlock device on your vehicle for the determined period of time you will have the TRL
  • Enrollment in a substance abuse and/or drinking driver’s course

Second-Offense OWI Penalties in Iowa

Being charged with a second-offense OWI may result in the following consequences that you can expect to be more severe than a first-offense charge:

  • A potential one-year license revocation
  • Up to two years in jail
  • A potential $6,250 fine
  • Up to one year with the ignition interlock device
  • Enrollment in a substance abuse and/or drinking driver’s course
  • Potential vehicle impoundment

Third-Offense OWI Penalties in Iowa

Drivers who are charged with a third-offense OWI for a third or subsequent time in Iowa will face severe penalties that may follow them for years to come. The following are the penalties for third-offense OWIs in Iowa:

  • A potential six-year license revocation
  • Up to five years in jail
  • A potential $9,375 fine
  • Up to one year with the ignition interlock device
  • Enrollment in a substance abuse and/or drinking driver’s course.
  • Potential vehicle impoundment

Penalties for Refusing to Submit to Chemical Testing in Iowa

Refusing to submit o chemical testing while stopped by law enforcement under suspicion of driving under the influence will result in the driver automatically losing their driver’s license. This is due to Iowa’s “implied consent” law. For a first offense, you will lose your license for one year. For a second refusal, you will lose your license for two years. For a third refusal, you will lose your license for three years.

Contact Our Firm

Herting Law, PLLC, is an Iowa-based law firm designed to help with all of your legal needs. If you need a Des Moines criminal defense lawyer, our firm has significant experience in all criminal matters, including OWIs, drug charges, gun crimes, theft, assault, and more. If you need an estate planning lawyer, our firm can guide you through it all, including drafting wills, trusts, and the administration of your estate. Whatever the situation, Herting Law, PLLC has you covered.

Read Our Latest Blog Posts

© 2022 Herting Law, PLLC. All Rights Reserved.
Disclaimer | Sitemap | Privacy Policy