What BAC do I need to be charged with an underage OWI in Iowa?
In the state of Iowa, if an underage driver is found operating a vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of even 0.02%, they can receive an underage OWI charge.
What happens if I’m convicted of an underage OWI?
The consequences that an underage OWI offender faces can vary depending on the nature of the offense. Typically, the individual will be subject to A driver’s license suspension: The state can suspend the driver’s license of an underage OWI offender for 60 to 90 days. That said, if the underage individual is convicted of refusing to take a breathalyzer test, they will most likely have their driver’s license revoked for an entire year (and up to two years for a second offense).
If this is your first OWI offense, you will most likely enter the deferred judgment program. In most cases, this is a year-long program, and as long as you can complete it, the court will most likely dismiss the charges against you. However, if you fail to complete the program, you will most likely face jail time, probation, enrollment in a substance abuse program, and pay a $1,250 fine.
No matter the circumstances of your case, if you are currently facing any OWI-related matter, the most important thing you can do is retain the services of a seasoned attorney who can advocate for your best interests at every turn. We are here to fight for your freedom and your future. Contact Herting Law PLLC today to schedule your initial consultation with our dedicated legal team.