Get Your Consultation TODAY!

Charged With a OWI this Thanksgiving Eve? What to Know

Thanksgiving Eve is a night celebrated by many. The night before Thanksgiving is typically celebrated by bar-hopping and reuniting with hometown friends. However, Thanksgiving Eve also, unfortunately, marks a heightened risk for drunk driving incidents. If you have received an OWI this Thanksgiving Eve, continue reading to learn the penalties you may face. If you require assistance with your charges, do not hesitate to reach out to our experienced Iowa OWI defense attorney.

Get Help Today

What are the penalties for a first-offense OWI?

When a driver is charged with a first-offense OWI in Iowa, they may face the following penalties:

  • Up to one year of jail time
  • A 180-day license revocation
  • A $1,250 fine
  • If you have installed an ignition interlock device in your vehicle, you will likely receive a Temporary Restircit License
  • Required enrollment in a substance abuse and/or drunk driver’s course

What are the penalties for a second-offense OWI?

You may face the following more severe penalties if you have been charged with a second-offense OWI in Iowa:

  • License revocation for one year
  • Up to two years of jail time
  • A $6,250 fine
  • Installation of an ignition interlock device for up to one year
  • Enrollment in a substance abuse and/or drinking driver’s course
  • Vehicle impoundment

What are the penalties for a third-offense OWI?

If you have been charged with an OWI for a third or subsequent time, you will face severe penalties that may follow you for years to come. The following are the potential penalties you may face for a third-offense OWI in Iowa:

  • Six-year license revocation
  • Up to five years of jail time
  • A $9,375 fine
  • Installation of an ignition interlock device for up to one year
  • Enrollment in a substance abuse and/or drinking driver’s course.
  • Vehicle impoundment

What are the penalties for refusing to submit to chemical testing in Iowa?

If you refuse to submit to chemical testing while stopped by law enforcement under suspicion of driving under the influence, this will result in you losing your driver’s license automatically due to Iowa’s “implied consent” law. You will lose your license for one year for a first refusal. For a second refusal, you will lose your license for two years. For a third refusal, you will lose your license for three years.

Contact Our Firm

Herting Law, PLLC, is an Iowa-based law firm designed to help with all of your legal needs. If you need a Des Moines criminal defense lawyer, our firm has significant experience in all criminal matters, including OWIs, drug charges, gun crimes, theft, assault, and more. If you need an estate planning lawyer, our firm can guide you through it all, including drafting wills, trusts, and the administration of your estate. Whatever the situation, Herting Law, PLLC has you covered.

© 2022 Herting Law, PLLC. All Rights Reserved.
Disclaimer | Sitemap | Privacy Policy