Get Your Consultation TODAY!

What Happens If I’m Caught Texting While Driving In Iowa?

Statistics show that distracted driving is the leading cause of car accidents in the United States. It’s no surprise, then, that most states have set laws to prevent cell phone use when operating a vehicle. In 2017, Iowa enacted a primary law that allows police officers to stop drivers who appear to be using an electronic device while driving. If you’re an Iowa resident, you might wonder about what could happen if you’re caught texting and driving in your state. No need to worry because our knowledgeable law firm has all the answers you need! Continue reading this blog to find out how a Des Moines Traffic Violation Lawyer can provide individualized legal counseling today.

Get Help Today


In Iowa, you can be pulled over if a police officer catches you looking at your phone while driving. The law states that drivers are prohibited from reading or writing text messages or emails unless their vehicle is legally parked at the time. Breaking this law is a misdemeanor that comes with penalties.


Yes, there are a few “loopholes” to this law surrounding using an electronic device while driving. Some of the most common exceptions that would allow drivers to look at a device while driving include:

  • Reading safety/emergency messages such as Amber Alerts and weather warnings
  • Getting directions from a GPS
  • Sending text messages by using voice commands
  • Truckers, bus drivers, and emergency services using digital dispatch systems
  • Public safety workers and healthcare professionals reading texts as part of their work


If found guilty of texting and driving, you can be fined $45 for a first offense. Including court costs, the fine can even be around $100. It’s unlikely that you could risk a license suspension for this offense. However, you can face much more severe consequences if while texting and driving, you caused an accident that injured another person. If you caused injury to another due to distracted driving, you could be given a $500 fine and/or a 90-day license suspension. You might also be liable for covering the victim’s medical bills and other expenses from their injuries.

The good news is that a lawyer might be able to help you reduce or dismiss your charges. It can be difficult to prove that you were texting while driving, and our legal team has experience in defending clients against distracted driving offenses.

Have you recently been charged with texting and driving in Iowa? You might want to speak with a traffic violation attorney who can help you determine your best options. Thankfully, Herting Law is on your side! Contact our highly effective law firm today for an initial consultation.

© 2024 Herting Law, PLLC. All Rights Reserved.
Disclaimer | Sitemap | Privacy Policy